The government has already released the list of holidays for 2014. According to Proclamation No. 655, the list of regular and special holidays are as follows:

January 1 (Wednesday) – New Year’s Day
April 9 (Wednesday) - Araw ng Kagitingan
April 17 - Maundy Thursday
April 18 - Good Friday
May 1 (Thursday) - Labor Day
June 12 (Thursday) - Independence Day
August 25 (Monday) - National Heroes Day
November 30 (Sunday) - Bonifacio Day
December 25 (Thursday) - Christmas Day
December 30 (Tuesday) - Rizal Day

January 31 (Friday) - Chinese New Year
April 19 - Black Saturday
August 21 (Thursday) - Ninoy Aquino Day
November 1 (Saturday) - All Saints Day
December 24 (Wednesday) and
December 26 (Friday) - Additional non-working days
December 31 (Wednesday) - Last Day of the Year

February 25 (Tuesday) - EDSA Revolution Anniversary

Take note that December 24 and 26, the days before and after Christmas, have been declared as additional non-working days “to foster closer family ties and observe Christmas more meaningfully.” December 31, has also been declared as a special holiday in anticipation of the new year.

The proclamation also states that the dates for the observance of the Muslim holidays Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha (the start and end of Ramadan, respectively) shall be announced after they have been “determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient.” The National Commission on Muslim Filipinos will then inform the President when the said dates have been set.

(Photo by Yalcin Eren via

Recommended Videos
Get the latest updates from Female Network
Subscribe to our Newsletter!
Trending on Network

Latest Stories

Night Creams to Try in Your 30s, Based on Your Skin Concern

Waking up to better, more radiant skin can be possible with these night creams.

Add This New Hair Treatment To Your Self-Care Routine

Beautiful and damage-free hair does not need to be expensive.
Load More Stories