If you've recently updated your Instagram app, you might have already noticed a new creepy feature that tells everybody about your current status: active, seen, or typing... It even shows how long it has been since you've been offline.

More From FemaleNetwork.com

The updates show up in the app's direct messages menu, just underneath the usernames of people you recently interacted with.

Luckily, unlike Facebook, you can turn this function off. So if you wish to really hide your online state and keep your last active time from appearing to your contact list (bye, stalkers), here's what you should do.

1. Go to your Instagram profile page.

2. For Android users, click the three dots on the right side of your screen. If you're using an iPhone, click the gear icon.

3. Scroll down until you find Show Activity Status.

4. Disable this option.

This is also helpful if you're trying to ignore messages, or if you just want to give yourself your much-needed privacy.

More From FemaleNetwork.com

This story originally appeared on Fhm.com.ph.

* Minor edits have been made by the Femalenetwork.com editors.

Get the latest updates from Female Network
Subscribe to our Newsletter!
View More Articles About:
Instagram
Comments

Latest Stories

Load More Stories