Have you started planning out your holidays for the year? Take a look at the list below (based on Proclamation No. 1841, signed in July 2009) so you can think ahead to your next long-weekend trip because there are 11 long weekends in 2010!


  • January 1, Friday: New Year’s Day (regular holiday)
  • February 22, Monday: EDSA Revolution Anniversary (special holiday for schools moved from February 25)
  • April 1, Thursday: Maundy Thursday (regular holiday)
  • April 2, Friday: Good Friday (regular holiday)
  • April 9, Friday: Araw ng Kagitingan: (regular holiday) 
  • May 1, Saturday: Labor Day (regular holiday)
  • June 14, Monday: Independence Day (regular holiday deferred from June 12)
  • August 23, Monday: Ninoy Aquino Day (special non-working holiday deferred from August 21)
  • August 30, Monday: National Heroes Day: August 30 (regular holiday)
  • November 1, Monday: All Saints Day (special non-working holiday)
  • November 29, Monday: Bonifacio Day (regular holiday moved from November 30)
  • December 24, Friday: Additional Special (Non-Working) Day 
  • December 25, Saturday: Christmas Day (regular holiday)
  • December 27, Monday: Rizal Day (regular holiday moved from December 30) 
  • December 31, Friday: Last Day of the Year (special non-working holiday)
Recommended Videos


The Islamic holidays Eid’l Ftir and Eid’l Adha will also be observed as national holidays; however, their exact dates will be declared after these have been determined by the Office of Muslim Affairs.

To view an official list of Philippine holidays for this and past years, refer to the page on You can also check out’s article on the declared holidays to see a list of long weekends. For even more holidays, click on to the next page.

You can also check out the list below for holidays celebrated on a local scale, but before you book your out-of-town trip, check with your HR department to make sure your company observes these:


  • January 16, Saturday: Sinulog (regional public holiday in Cebu and Tacloban)
  • February 5, Friday: Biñan Liberation Day (special working holiday in Laguna)
  • February 9, Tuesday: Mandaluyong Liberation and Cityhood Day (regular public holiday)
  • February 11, Thursday: Evelio Javier Day (regular public holiday in Antique, Capiz, Aklan, and Iloilo)
  • February 13, Saturday: Parañaque Day (regular public holiday)
  • February 14, Sunday: Valenzuela City Day (special working holiday)
  • February 24, Wednesday: Cebu City Charter Day (regular public holiday)
  • March 1, Monday: Muntinlupa City Charter Day (special working holiday)
  • March 8, Monday: Founding Day (special working holiday in Compostela Valley)
  • March 16, Tuesday: Davao Day (special non-working public holiday)
  • March 18, Thursday: Liberation of Panay (regular public holiday in Iloilo)
  • March 27, Saturday: San Juan Day (special non-working public holiday)
  • June 16, Wednesday: Cagayan de Oro Charter Day (special non-working public holiday)
  • June 18, Friday: Founding Day (special non-working public holiday in Benguet)
  • June 19, Saturday: Surigao del Sur Day (special non-working public holiday)
  • June 19, Saturday: Feast of Forest (special working holiday in Palawan)
  • June 19, Saturday: Laguna Day / Jose Rizal’s birthday (special non-working holiday)
  • June 24, Thursday: Manila Foundation Day (special non-working holiday)
  • June 30, Wednesday: Tacloban City Charter Day (special non-working public holiday)
  • July 2, Friday: Pasig Foundation Day (special non-working holiday)
  • July 23, Friday: Apolinario Mabini Day (special working holiday in Tanauan, Batangas)
  • August 1, Sunday: Butuan City Charter Day
  • August 6, Friday: Provincial Charter Day (regular public holiday in Tacloban)
  • August 9, Monday: Ablan Day (special non-working holiday in Laoag City)
  • August 19, Thursday: Manuel Luis Quezon Day (special working holiday in Quezon City)
  • September 1, Wednesday: Baguio Day (special non-working holiday)
  • September 9, Thursday: Osmeña Day (regular public holiday in Cebu)
  • September 9, Thursday: San Jose del Monte City Day (regular public holiday)
  • September 10, Friday: Surigao City Day (regular city holiday)
  • September 13, Monday: Battle of Pulang Lupa Day / Marinduque Day (special non-working public holiday) 
  • September 17, Friday: Siquijor Day (special non-working public holiday)
  • September 18, Saturday: Charter Day (special working holiday in Sultan Kudarat)
  • October 16, Saturday: Oroquieta City Day (special non-working public holiday)
  • October 20, Wednesday: Leyte Landing Day (regular public holiday in Tacloban)
  • November 16, Tuesday: Quirino Day (special non-working holiday in Ilocos Sur province)
  • December 13, Monday: Founding Day (special non-working holiday in General Trias, Cavite)
  • December 18, Saturday: Lopez Jaena Day (regular public holiday in Iloilo)


Photo source: 

Get the latest updates from Female Network
Subscribe to our Newsletter!
View More Articles About:
Holidays Weekends Vacation
Trending on Network

Latest Stories

HMO vs. Health Insurance: Which One Do You Need?

Protect your savings and, of course, yourself and your family.

Reasons Change Can Be Good For You

For one, you grow when you’re pushed out of your comfort zone.
Load More Stories