Author Topic: How to Jumpstart Freelance Writing Career?  (Read 1047 times)

oshiawase

• Senior GirlTalker
How to Jumpstart Freelance Writing Career?
« on: March 06, 2017, 11:32:43 am »
Hi! I need your advice especially from those who are freelance writers.

I am a college graduate and I plan to enter law school. I want to pursue writing in the future while working as lawyer. I was inspired to pursue writing after several of my professors commended my writing skills. However, I have zero experience working as writer (not in school paper, blog, official school journal, etc. that writers usually have). This somehow discourages me.

How do I start? Do I need one of those writing workshops/seminars?

How much is usual pay per write-up piece should I expect from an amateur like me?

Any advice/tips?

thank you!
« Last Edit: March 06, 2017, 06:56:43 pm by oshiawase »

simang

• Acts like a lady, thinks like a man.
  • Super GirlTalker
Re: How to Jumstart Freelance Writing Career?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2017, 12:37:03 pm »
Anong klaseng writer ba ang gusto mong career? There are academic writers, bloggers, editorial writers.. depende kung anong niche gusto mo.

Kung career sa writing talaga ang goal mo, example sa magazine or news, you have to have a degree in journalism (or something similar). Requirement yan. But if you're into more casual writing naman, you can start with blogging and apply for adsense para kumita ang blog mo. It takes a lot of time though to monetize your blog kasi you need to have substantial content and following para mag rank ang blog mo. If marunong ka sa SEO stuff, pwede mong mapabilis ang growth ng hits ng blog mo.